Trans-Tasman 2024

Trans-Tasman Petanque 2024

Every year for the last 20 years there has been an International Petanque tournament where teams from New Zealand and Australia compete for the title of Trans-Tasman Champions. The event is held alternatively in NZ and Australia. The tournament has two divisions, Open and 60+.

Scores are decided on points awarded for wins. 3 for a Triples, 2 for a Doubles and 1 for Singles.

In 2024, the event was held at the Subiaco Petanque Club in Perth WA on the weekend of 16/17 March.

For only the fourth time in the 20 years the Australian team won both divisions. The Open score was AUS 94 NZ 50 and 60+ AUS 72 NZ 48.

There was a strong representation of SA players involved:

  • in the Open: Ha Nguyen, Haejung Jang, Selina Dally,Giselle Whiteaker, Van Nguyen and Jean-Luc Gonnet. Coach Adrian Clements.
  • in the 60+: Brian Tuckfield. Coaches Glenis Wilson and Kenny May.

Posted in Uncategorized.