2022-2023 SA State Singles Championship – Novar Gardens Petanque Club – 19 February 2023 – Photo Essay

The South Australian Petanque League held the 2022-2023 South Australian State Singles Championship on Sunday 19th February 2023. The tournament was hosted by the Novar Gardens Petanque Club.

The Open Singles winner was Alexi Alexi and the Ladies Singles winner was Haejung Jang.

SAPL President Stan Wilson has created this photo essay. The Tournament Director’s report has already been posted.

2022-2023 – SA – Singles – Photo Essay by Stan


The 2023 Australian Masters Games will include Petanque under the auspices of the SAPL. Naz Saunders (amg@sapetanque.com) is the Convenor of the Organising Committee for Petanque.


Details of the Petanque programme are at https://australianmastersgames.com/sport/petanque

To receive all the latest news on the Australian Masters Games delivered direct to your inbox, sign up to the e-newsletter AMG ADELAIDE 2023 right HERE.

DATES: Sunday 8th, Monday 9th, Tuesday 10th, Thursday 12th & Friday 13th October 2023
TIMES: 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM
CATEGORIES: 30+ and 70+

  • Mixed Triples – Sunday 8 October 2023 – Club de Petanque d’Adelaide
  • Triples (Men’s & Women’s) – Monday 9 October 2023 – Eastern Suburbs Petanque Club
  • Singles (Men’s & Women’s) – Tuesday 10 October 2023 – Novar Gardens Petanque Club
  • Doubles (Men’s & Women’s) – Thursday 12 October 2023 – Prospect Petanque Club
  • Mixed Doubles – Friday 13 October 2023 – Prospect Petanque Club

2022-2023 SA State Precision Shooting Championship – Photo Essay

The SA State Precision Shooting Championships were held at Novar Gardens Petanque Club on Saturday 4th February 2023, when the previous day had been the coldest February day in Adelaide for over 20 years and the Saturday was only slightly warmer.

Precision Shooting is a difficult discipline to master as it requires not only great boule control but also nerves of steel as the pressure to perform is enormous. It is equally difficult to judge as there are so many points that need to be watched; feet, time, landing spot and finishing position which is why four umpires are required in a formal competition.

Seventeen hopefuls gathered, representing players in the Female and Male 60+ Divisions also some in the Open Ladies and Men’s Divisions. The event was overseen by four officiating umpires and a scorer. It was good to see a number of interested spectators for the event.

The set up for the SA State Precision Shooting Championship, with Umpire Raymond Beaumont.


  • Over 60 Women: M. Peik.
  • Over 60 Men: 1st R. Peik, 2nd D. Seret
  • Open Women: 1st H. Jang, 2nd S. Dally, 3rd W. Bensen, 4th G. Whiteaker, 5th H. Nguyen.
  • Open Men: 1st L. Chazal, 2nd V. Nguyen, 2nd C. Puccini, 4th C. Stewart, 5th K. Maski, 6th V. Bulone, 7th N. Armstrong, 8th J-L. Gonnet, 9th  K. May.

L Chazal will be named the 2022-2023 Open Men’s South Australian Precision Shooting Champion.

When I was preparing this report, I Googled the collective noun for a group of Umpires The number one suggestion was a “Myopia” of umpires. I decided that perhaps our umpire cohort may get annoyed at this and chose a “Pool” of Umpires, they are shown below.

L to R: Raymond  Beaumont, Brett Williams, Peter Beaumont, Dirk Seret, Terry Hall, Michael Read and umpire and Scorer Adrian Clements.

Stan Wilson, President SAPL